Introducing myself

Image

Where I Live:  Grew up in northern New Jersey, went to college in Kentucky, spent some time in the Marshall Islands, and moved to Maryland in 1968.

 How I live:  With a great companion named Lou Martin; we’ve been cohabiting since 1981. We have one television set, two computers, and thousands of books.

Family: Two sons named David and Gary, and four grandchildren named Annika, Zachary, Sophie, and Charlotte (in order of age). Lou has a daughter-in-law named Leah, and three grandchildren named Kiely, John, and Joseph. We share all the grandchildren–it’s great.

Favorite exercise: Walking in the woods.    Image

Favorite place to visit: the British Isles.

Pets: Three cats named Bastet, Dickens and Zeno, all black with white feet.

Favorite Authors for Adults: Charles Dickens, Lewis Thomas, J.R.R. Tolkien, Connie Willis, John Wyndham, John McPhee, Bernd Heinrich, Dorothy Sayers, Ivan Doig, Terry Pratchett.

Favorite Authors for Kids: Jane Yolen, Arthur Ransome, J.K. Rowling, Peter Dickinson, Rudyard Kipling, Susan Cooper, Katherine Paterson, Rosemary Sutcliff, Diana Wynne Jones.

Advertisements

5 comments on “Introducing myself

  1. What a great photo of you and Lou, Cecily. Is that the same woods as in the header image above? I am really looking forward to reading more about your life, nature and your books here.

    XO

    • No, that photo of Lou and me was taken in my son’s family’s back yard.

      Thanks again for your patience and good humor yesterday, not to mention your expertise!

      Hugs, Cecily

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s